RSS Feed

NCUR 2012 and the End of Writing March Madness

If you look back at most of my posts at the beginning of the month, I was talking nonstop about a beastly technical writing project I had. I was writing the program book for the National Conference on Undergraduate Research. It got sent to the printers the second week of March.

But I still wasn’t done with NCUR. I pretty much sold my soul to them for the weekend. I was running the information table, directing countless volunteers, and being overall helpful. I worked the information table from 7 AM to 5:30 PM on Thursday, followed by class, 7 AM to 7:30 PM on Friday, and 7 AM to 4 PM on Saturday. I also made a few attendees’ days better by giving them rides back to their hotels.

It was a lot of work, but a lot of fun at the same time. I’ve worked longer shifts at previous jobs, but there was usually a point I could shut off my brain and just go through the motions. My volunteers could answer the basic majority questions, but I was the one that had to answer the hard questions. I had to think the whole time. So when I eventually got home, I was a little brain fried.

Unfortunately, this killed my writing buzz. I was participating in Writing March Madness,  if you recall. My goal was 500 words a day. Up until the day before the conference began, I had only missed three days out of the whole month. That was met over the conference. I didn’t write a single word creatively those days. So my final March Madness achievement ended up being 25 days of writing, 6 days of slacking.

The good news is, I definitely did hit over 15,500 words (which is what I would have had if I had written only 500 words a day every single day). When I began, my word count was just over 10k. Now I have just under 24k towards Stealing the Crown, 7k towards fanfictions (don’t judge me), and 5k towards smaller miscellaneous projects.

I will keep chugging along in writing Stealing the Crown because I’d like to have the initial draft finished by October so that I can start on the sequel for NaNoWriMo in November (assuming I figure out a plot for a sequel, not just the opening scene). I will also keep you posted on StC updates as they come in.

Where are you at with your goals?  Writing or otherwise. Don’t you just hate it when life gets in the way? But if it didn’t, we wouldn’t have anything to write about.

About sugarfrenzied

Medieval fantasy writer, anime-enthusiast, starving college student (who is actually decently fed), too-busy-for-a-boy working girl

Leave a Reply

