RSS Feed

Lost in the Possibilities

We all have those epiphany moments. Sometimes they’re good. Sometimes their bad. Sometimes they give you writing ideas. Sometimes it’s just a small realization before you move on with your life.

I had an epiphany this morning. It wasn’t one of the happy ones, though.

This is what I realized: What am I doing with my life?

I’m going to graduate this April. Goodie for me. I’m going to get my BA in English with a certificate for technical writing at the age of 20. Yeah, that’s something to feel good about.

But then what?

My progress of my current novel is chugging along well. For only getting into it last month, really, I’m already over 15,000 words. Alright, that’s cool.

But my last book took me five years. It’s still not done. In fact, it got put away in a drawer for a while.

I’d like to move out of this state. But where am I going to go? Seattle, Washington was my original aim. But I’ve been informed that it’s very expensive.

New York has more jobs in editing. But really… New York? Why would I want to live there?

Here I am a month from my graduation date. In one month’s time, 31 days from today, I will be standing there, a diploma under my belt, a world of opportunity in front of me.

But where do I go from there?

Where do I even start?

About sugarfrenzied

Medieval fantasy writer, anime-enthusiast, starving college student (who is actually decently fed), too-busy-for-a-boy working girl

One response »

  1. Sugarfrenzied-

    What do you want to do? That is the main question you have to answer. I have spent 27 years in a career that I would not have chosen at your age. It has supported my family but it is mostly a means to an end. I.e. It provides me with the means to do what I like to do. Unfortunately, work takes up a good deal of my time. I’m not complaining. On the contray, life has been very good to me. But those who truly enjoy thier work don’t have to work so hard to have fun. So, my advice to you is this. Decide what you want to do and go for it with both hands and your entire being. Do not settle. However, keep in mind that nothing is certain and sometimes life throws you a curve ball. Be brave and have an open mind when the unexpected happens. And it will happen. I wish you all of the luck in the world.
    -Dennis

    Reply

Leave a Reply

